Skip Navigation

The Structure of Cells

Author(s): Center for Educational Outreach

Eukaryotic Cell Structure: Plants

Some major components of the plant cell are the: nucleus, rough ER, smooth ER, golgi apparatus, ribosomes, mitochondria, peroxisomes, cytoskeleton, plasma membrane, cytoplasm, chloroplasts, central vacuole, cell wall and plasmodesmata.

Present in plant cells, but not in animal cells, are the chloroplasts, central vacuole, cell wall, and plasmodesmata. Plant cells have no lysosomes, flagella, or centrosomes with centrioles.

The central vacuole is formed by the aggregation of smaller vacuoles. Central vacuoles elongate as they absorb water, allowing cells to increase in size without having to make more cytoplasm.